University News

Wetherell’s “Issues in Education” TV program focuses on brain drain; available online

With Florida’s budget difficulties forcing serious cuts at Florida State University, President T.K. Wetherell talks with two veteran professors who are planning to leave FSU for universities outside of Florida. Howard Goldstein, associate dean in the College of Communication, and Charles Figley, professor in the College of Social Work and director of the FSU Traumatology […]

FSU graduate programs among nation’s best

Florida State University’s environmental law, speech-language pathology and five academic programs within the College of Education are among the best in the nation, according to new rankings in U.S. News and World Report’s "2009 Edition of America’s Best Graduate Schools." Nancy Marcus "Florida State has earned a reputation for excellence as a graduate research institution […]

FSU Foundation welcomes new board members

The Florida State University Foundation Board of Trustees has welcomed seven new members. "We are pleased to welcome this new group of trustees to the Foundation Board," said Foundation President Charles Rasberry. "They bring not only their individual skills and resources, but also fresh ideas and new perspectives essential to maintaining excellence at Florida State." […]

Randy Spetman named FSU Athletics Director

Florida State University President, Dr. T.K. Wetherell, introduced Randy Spetman on Monday as the university’s new Director of Athletics, ending a national search that began in December. Spetman, a former Air Force colonel, takes over at FSU after serving as Athletics Director at Utah State since July 1, 2004 and at the United States Air […]

FSU to mark Heritage Day with festival, statue unveiling, Legacy Walk

Florida State University will celebrate the 157th anniversary of its founding and its eighth annual Heritage Day on Saturday, Jan. 19. Heritage Day campus events that are free and open to the public include the Legacy Walk Outdoor Festival  (10 a.m. to noon, Woodward Plaza and Oglesby Union). The ribbon cutting and dedication of phase […]

FSU recognizes four alumni with Circle of Gold awards

The Florida State University Alumni Association recently honored four distinguished friends and advocates whose contributions to the university shine bright. Philanthropist Thomas L. “Tommy” Williams, financier Hans W. Tews, statewide public servant and former Ocala mayor Wayne L. Rubinas, and Florida Lt. Gov. Jeffrey D. Kottkamp each received the Circle of Gold Award during FSU’s […]

Proctor named interim athletics director

Florida State University President T.K. Wetherell has announced the appointment of Dr. William L. “Bill” Proctor of St. Augustine, Fla., as special assistant to the president for athletics—a newly created, temporary position. William L. “Bill” Proctor The new position was created to provide for Proctor’s timely and smooth transition into the role of interim athletics […]

FSU presents Seminole educator Louise Jones Gopher with rare Westcott Award

Florida State University has bestowed the Westcott Award on Louise Jones Gopher, recognized by the Palm Beach Post as one of 100 outstanding citizens who have made a difference in people’s lives during the 20th century. Louise Gopher The distinguished Westcott Award, named after James D. Westcott, Jr., one of FSU’s original benefactors, is a […]

FSU Air Force ROTC major wins prestigious commendation

Maj. Karl Paulsen of the Florida State University Air Force Reserve Officer Training Corps (ROTC) has received the 2006-2007 Headquarters ROTC Commandant of Cadets of the Year Award. This merit is given to only one officer cadre member of 144 AFROTC detachments in the country. To receive this recognition Paulsen, assistant professor of aerospace studies, […]

State of the University presentation available online

The full text of President T.K. Wetherell’s 2007 State of the University presentation is posted at The multi-media presentation provides a five-year retrospective of President’s Wetherell’s administration as well as a look forward. According to Wetherell, "Given the goals I have set and our progress since 2003, we can see significant progress in many […]

FSU faculty honors three with Torch awards

The Florida State University Faculty Senate has honored three individuals—pioneering film professor Don Ungurait, nationally known religion scholar Leo Sandon and FSU Foundation innovator Frances "Frankie" Strickland—with Torch Awards for their contributions to excellence in FSU’s academic programs. From left, Leo Sandon, Frankie Strickland and Don Ungurait Faculty Senate President Jayne Standley presented the awards […]

FSU to confer honorary doctorate on legendary Professor Emerita Kitty Hoffman

An Honorary Doctorate of Science will be conferred on FSU Professor Emerita of Chemistry Katherine "Kitty" Blood Hoffman for distinguished contributions to the institution she has loved and served—as a student, alumna, faculty member, administrator and benefactor—for 75 years. The ceremony is part of Florida State University’s annual Fall Meeting of the General Faculty at […]