FSUPD’s Chief Brown to serve on Florida Police Chiefs Association’s new subcommittee on accountability and societal change

FSUPD Chief Terri Brown
FSUPD Chief Terri Brown

Florida State University Police Chief Terri Brown has been named as a member of the Florida Police Chiefs Association’s newly formed Subcommittee on Accountability and Societal Change and cited the 8 Cant Wait guidelines as a starting point for the subcommittee’s discussions.  

8 Cant Wait is a national campaign advocating for police departments to make eight major changes to policy and training.  

Brown, who was sworn in as chief in September 2019, has spent her entire career with FSUPD. She is a 2014 graduate of the FBI National Academy, and last year, she was honored with the Florida Police Chiefs Association’s President’s Award. 

“I am honored to serve on the Florida Police Chief’s Accountability and Societal Change Committee,” Brown said. “Both police and the communities they serve see the need for policing reform and recognize the necessity of working together to achieve success. The FPCA committee will help provide guidance and leadership for the future of law enforcement and our communities.” 

FSU President John Thrasher said the Florida Police Chiefs Association made an excellent choice in selecting Chief Terri Brown to serve on this subcommittee.   

“Chief Brown has outstanding experience, judgement and vision, along with a passion for community policing,” Thrasher said. “She has great ideas about how to make transformative change through proactive engagement and communication, and I know she will make a valuable contribution to this subcommittee’s important work.” 

The subcommittee will begin working on best practices language, using the 8 Can’t Wait plan as a guide, to create standardized procedures that can be implemented statewide. 

The Florida Police Chiefs Association is committed to leading the way for constructive change and rebuilding trust and accountability between law enforcement and the communities they serve, FPCA president and Temple Terrace Police Department Chief Kenneth Albano said. 

Chief Anthony Holloway of the St. Petersburg Police Department, who is chairing the group, directed each subcommittee member to invite a community leader of their choosing to join the subcommittee and ensure that the group has the full and unvarnished input of a variety of responsible voices.  

The subcommittee will work with participating community leaders, as well as citizens across the state, to address a myriad of societal issues and concerns that continue to contribute to negative encounters between community members and the police.  

About the Florida Police Chiefs Association
The Florida Police Chiefs Association (FPCA) is the nation’s pre-eminent law enforcement professional association, speaking for more than 900 of Floridas top law enforcement executives and providing guidance and leadership for the future of law enforcement and our communities. The FPCA serves municipal, airport, college and university, and tribal police departments, as well as private businesses and security firms and federal, state and county law enforcement agencies across every region of the state. For more information about the FPCA, visit www.fpca.com.