FSU College of Education honors distinguished alumni

This year’s award winners are (L to R) Andra Cornelius, Pamela “Sissi” Carroll, Saralyn Grass, Timothy Kellison pictured with Dean Damon Andrew (FSU Photo/Bruce Palmer)

The Florida State University College of Education announced its 2019 Distinguished Alumni Award winners at a ceremony Friday, Oct. 25.

Established in 1985, the College of Education Distinguished Alumni Awards provide an avenue of honoring graduates of the college who have distinguished themselves through scholarly, creative and humanitarian achievement and service to their profession.

The Trailblazer Award was established in 2018 to recognize alumni who have graduated in the past 10 years and who have had a significant impact within their profession, contributed to their community and show promise of continued success.

Each year, recipients are nominated by their peers and selected by a committee of College of Education alumni and emeritus faculty. This year’s award winners are:

  • Distinguished Alumni – Government and Community Service: Andra Cornelius (B.S. ’79, M.S. ’81), senior vice president of business & workforce development for CareerSource Florida
  • Distinguished Educator: Pamela “Sissi” Carroll (M.S. ’85), dean of the College of Community Innovation and Education at the University of Central Florida
  • Trailblazer: Saralyn Grass (Ed.D. ’14), chief programs officer for the Kids Hope Alliance in Jacksonville, Florida
  • Trailblazer: Timothy Kellison (M.S. ‘09, Ph.D. ’13), assistant professor of sport administration at Georgia State University

The College of Education dean, administration, faculty, family and friends honored the four individuals at an awards ceremony and dinner held during Florida State University’s Homecoming week.

To learn more about the College of Education’s Distinguished Alumni Awards, visit education.fsu.edu/distinguished-alumni.