Faculty/Staff Briefs

Faculty and Staff Briefs: May 2021 

HONORS AND AWARDS  Krystal Thomas, MSI (University Libraries) was awarded the 2021 Society of Florida Archivists Award of Excellence, which recognizes outstanding contributions to the preservation of Florida’s documentary heritage. Melissa Radey, Ph.D. and Shamra Boel-Studt, Ph.D. (College of Social Work) received a successfully funded Priority Research Award by the Florida Institute for Child Welfare for their project, “Maternity Group Homes for Young Mothers […]

Faculty and Staff Briefs: April 2021

HONORS AND AWARDS  Shonda Bernadin, Ph.D. (FAMU-FSU College of Engineering) received the 2020-2021 Research Excellence Award from Florida A&M University on April 23, 2021.  Stephanie Kennedy, Ph.D. (College of Social Work) was honored as the College of Social Work Instructor of the Year. Student nominators noted her engaged and compassionate teaching style and her ability […]

Faculty and Staff Briefs: February 2021

HONORS AND AWARDS The FSU Alumni Association was recognized with a 2021 CASE District III award and received Grand Gold in the category of Alumni/General Interest Magazines produced two times per year for its biannual alumni publication, VIRES magazine. Mackenzie Alston, Ph.D. (Department of Economics) was selected for a post-doctoral fellowship from the National Bureau […]

Faculty and Staff Briefs: January 2021

HONORS AND AWARDS Gregory J. Harris, Ph.D. (College of Human Sciences) and Earl Levison (Student Affairs) were recently selected as recipients of the 2021 Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Distinguished Service Award presented by the FSU Division of Student Affairs and the Center for Leadership and Social Change. The Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Distinguished Service Award was established in 1986 to […]

Faculty and Staff Briefs: December 2020 

HONORS AND AWARDS Joseph A. Schwartz, Ph.D. (College of Criminology & Criminal Justice) was awarded the Early Career Award from the BioPsychoSocial Division of the American Society of Criminology. This prestigious award recognizes an individual who has made a significant contribution to scholarly knowledge on BioPsychoSocial criminology within six years of receiving their doctoral degree. James Du, Ph.D. and Jason Pappas, Ph.D. […]

Faculty and Staff Briefs: November 2020

HONORS AND AWARDS Adrienne Stephenson, Ph.D. (Office of Graduate Fellowships and Awards) was selected as a Leon County recipient of the Spirit of Community Awards by the Florida Commission on the Status of Women. Yolanda Rankin, Ph.D. (College of Communication and Information) was chosen for two Diversity and Inclusion Awards and Honorable Mention for Best […]

Faculty and Staff Briefs: October 2020 

HONORS AND AWARDS Rick Burnette, Ph.D., Heather Epstein-Diaz, Galiya Tabulda, Ph.D., Caitlyn Jessee, Eugene Hernandez, Zack Stoffers, Patrick Martin, Mev Verzaal, Samantha Nix, Ph.D., Joling Emerick, Andrew Brady, Matthew Earhart and James M. Hunt, Ph.D. (Office of Institutional Research) were awarded first place for Best Website, second place for Best Fact Book and third place for Best Interactive Report at the regional Southern Association for Institutional Research conference. […]

Faculty and Staff Briefs: September 2020

HONORS AND AWARDS Amy Ai, Ph.D. (College of Social Work) was recognized by the American Psychological Association for outstanding contributions in science for trauma psychology. She was honored by APA’s Trauma Psychology Division (Division 56) in an online ceremony Aug. 19. Kelly Farquharson, Ph.D. (College of Communication and Information) received meritorious poster submission recognition by […]

Faculty and Staff Briefs: August 2020

HONORS AND AWARDS  Michelle Whyman, Ph.D. (Political Science) and co-authors won the 2020 Fenno Prize for best book in the area of legislative studies, “The Great Broadening: How the Vast Expansion of the Policymaking Agenda Transformed American Politics.” The American Political Science Association will present the award during its virtual meeting in September.  Dave R. King, Ph.D. (College of Business) was recognized as the 2019 […]

Faculty and Staff Briefs: July 2020

HONORS AND AWARDS University Communications were recognized with a National CASE award and received Bronze in the category of Advocacy/Issue Campaigns. “FSU Soars to 18th Ranking” was an effort to elevate the academic preeminence of the university, perhaps known more widely for its athletics prowess. The FSU Foundation won a Silver medal in the category […]

Faculty and Staff Briefs: June 2020

HONORS AND AWARDS  Hans Hassell, Ph.D. (Department of Political Science) won the 2020 Best Paper Award from the American Political Science Association’s Elections, Public Opinion, and Voting Behavior (EPOVB) Section for “Mobilize for Our Lives? School Shootings and Retrospective Voting in U.S. Elections.”  Hannah Schwadron, Ph.D. (School of Dance) received the 2019 de la Torre Bueno® First Book Award by the Dance Studies Association […]