College of Medicine professor to receive honor from the Beckman Trust

Suzanne Bennett Johnson

Suzanne Bennett Johnson, a Distinguished Research Professor at the Florida State University College of Medicine and the 2012 president of the American Psychological Association, is one of ten U.S. professors to receive $25,000 from the Elizabeth Hurlock Beckman Award Trust for 2013.

The trust focuses on awarding professors who have inspired their former students to make a difference in the community.

“I am deeply grateful to Suzanne for the opportunity to learn from her as my mentor, and I believe she is high deserving of this prestigious recognition. To this day, 20+ years later, Suzanne continues to inspire me to make a difference,” said Kenneth Terckyak, Ph.D., Johnson’s nominator and former student at the University of Florida College of Public Health & Health Professions.

The trust was established in 2008 under the will of Gail McKnight Beckman in honor of her mother, Dr. Elizabeth Hurlock Beckman. Dr. Beckman was an educator, a renowned author and a pioneer in the field of psychology. The Beckman Award Trust has granted $1.3 million to 52 professors and/or faculty members to date.

Johnson, along with the nine other 2013 Beckman Trust recipients, will be honored Saturday, Nov. 9, in Atlanta at The Carter Center.