FSU Board of Trustees approves Presidential Search Advisory Committee

Florida State University Board of Trustees Chair Ed Burr appointed a 15-member committee, as required by the Florida Board of Governors, to conduct a national search for the university’s 16th president during a special board meeting today via Zoom. Trustees unanimously affirmed Burr’s appointees.

The selection of the Presidential Search Advisory Committee followed guidelines set forth in Florida Board of Governors Regulation 1.002 and includes three members of the FSU Board of Trustees and a member of the Board of Governors, as well as students, faculty, alumni and community members.

William “Billy” Buzzett, vice chair of the FSU Board of Trustees, will serve as chair of the presidential search committee. Renisha Gibbs, associate vice president for Human Resources and chief of staff for Finance and Administration, will serve as vice chair.

The board also approved the committee’s charge, which includes selecting an executive search firm, developing a position description, reviewing prospective candidates without predetermined bias and presenting the most qualified candidates to the Board of Trustees for selection.

The Presidential Search Advisory Committee members are:

Bridgett Birmingham

Caitlyn Blake-Hedges

Ed Burr

Billy Buzzett

Joe Camps

Andrea Friall

Renisha Gibbs

Christian Hall

Nick Iarossi

Dazi Lenoir

Craig Mateer

DeVoe Moore

Les Pantin

Pam Perrewé

Eric Silagy

The new president will succeed President John Thrasher, who will remain in office until a new president can take the helm.

For more information and biographical information of the Presidential Search Advisory Committee members, visit presidentialsearch.fsu.edu.