Students, faculty and staff honored virtually on annual Leadership Awards Night

The 2020 Leadership Awards Night recipients were announced virtually due to the COVID-19 pandemic. (FSU Division of Student Affairs)

Florida State University students, employees and organizations were recognized during the university’s annual Leadership Awards Night Tuesday, April 14. The winners were announced virtually due to the COVID-19 pandemic. The awards, sponsored by the Division of Student Affairs, honor the diverse collection of individuals and groups across campus who engage in leadership learning.  

The awards and their recipients are: 

President’s Award, given to an outstanding freshman for service to the university and who shows potential for future leadership success: Zachary Kean. 

President’s Undergraduate Humanitarian of the Year Award, given to a student to recognize a tremendous commitment to cause through leadership and service: Myah Freeman. 

Academic Leadership Awards, given to one student undergraduate and/or graduate student from each FSU college: Cassie Compton and Christina Hanna – Applied Studies (FSU Panama City), Chanelle Dupuis – Arts & Sciences, Taylor Oldham and Gianna SanGiovanni – Business, James Hardy and Mitch Hudson  Engineering, Peipei Hong – Human Sciences, Vaibhav Diwanji and Alex Moershcbacher – Communication & Information, Sara Uribe and Javier Ramos – Criminology & Criminal Justice, Nikolas Webster – Education, Craig T. Roby – Law, Shalom Chege and Vinita Akula – Medicine, Chase Boyer – Social Sciences & Public Policy, Rose Antoine and Bushra Rashid – Social Work, Reannan Riedy – Jim Moran, Anisha Gupte and Megan Wise – Motion Picture Arts.  

Bob E. Leach Award, given to an outstanding student who is known for exemplary leadership and service to the university, and who displays an attitude of “caring and sharing”: Anne Lam. 

Sean A. Pittman Award, given to a student who has demonstrated outstanding leadership and dedication to the student body, university and community with significant contributions to the welfare and support of African American students: Essence Duncan. 

J.R. Harding Award, given to a student who has demonstrated outstanding leadership abilities and exceptional persistence in achieving educational goals while overcoming personal obstacles: Julian Levy. 

University Health Services Student of the Year Award, given to one student or a group of students who have demonstrated outstanding leadership and achievement in promoting health issues: Zach Blashinsky. 

Global Citizen Award, given to students who have been actively engaged in intercultural initiatives and exemplified leadership in promoting a global community: Alexander Alvarado and Chanelle Dupuis. 

The Dean’s Cup, given to students who have demonstrated a strong sense of commitment to the university’s Seminole Creed of truthfulness, respect, excellence, freedom of speech and inquiry, diversity, justice, citizenship and discovery: Courtney Francis, Jaelyn Vigoa and Shane Reilly. 

Instant Impact Student Leader of the Year, recognizes one up-and-coming leader who has helped create his or her FSU experience by engaging in student activities: Hannah Primozic. 

Outstanding Student Leaders of the Year, recognizes those students who have exceeded expectations in their student activities involvement at FSU: Marquita Rusley, Arnez Wallace, Miranda Perez, Jensen Woelfle and Aaron Goldstein. 

Faculty/Staff Seminole Awards, given to faculty and staff members who demonstrate an exemplary attitude toward students, are enthusiastic about working with students and extend themselves to help students: Bill Parker and Da’Shaun Scott. 

Student Seminole Awards, given to students who have made special contributions to the university in the areas of leadership and service: Angel PurgananChanelle Dupuis, Christopher Pinango, Courtney Francis, Katie Svedman, Michael Sussman, Shoshanah Bush, Zachary Blashinsky. 

Sports Club Program Award (Eddie Cubbon Award), given to an individual who has displayed exceptional dedication, spirit and leadership: Paul Lim. 

Sports Club of the Year Award, given to a sports club that far exceeded expectations on and off the playing field by demonstrating good organization, attitude, spirit and commitment: Women’s Ultimate Frisbee. 

Transfer Student Leadership Award, given to one outstanding transfer student who has demonstrated service to the university and shows potential for future leadership: Angie Mella. 

Adviser of the Year Award, given to an employee who contributes time and expertise as a volunteer to a student organization: Sarah Sheldon. 

William B. Clutter Union Board Members of the Yearpresented to a strong student leader who has consistently shown exceptional initiative, dedication and service to the Oglesby Union Board and FSU community throughout their term: Thomas Driscoll. 

Mary B. Coburn Student Organization of the Year Award, given to an undergraduate student organization and a graduate student organization for their major contributions to the university community or constituent group in the areas of service and leadership: Diversity & Inclusion in Research and Teaching Organization. 

Vires Award, given to a recognized student organization that exemplifies determination and perseverance: Homecoming. 

Artes Award, given to a recognized student organization that exemplifies scholastic achievement: LGBTheology. 

Mores Award, given to a recognized student organization to recognize outstanding contributions to the university’s Seminole tradition: The Big Event. 

For more information, visit