Radio Stories

Med student makes over 1,000 face masks for fellow students, local community

Second-year medical student Hannah Morgan mentioned her love for arts and crafts on her med school application. But she didn’t know then just how advantageous that passion could be until this past spring, when Morgan’s hobby turned into a passion project to help those in need.

‘Hurricanes from scratch’: FSU research finds small disturbances can trigger storms

After decades of research, meteorologists still have questions about how hurricanes develop. Now, Florida State University researchers have found that even the smallest changes in atmospheric conditions could trigger a hurricane, information that will help scientists understand the processes that lead to these devastating storms. For more visit

FSU Research: Uploading photos to social media leaves self-image starving

The study, published in the International Journal of Eating Disorders , reveals a “consistent and direct” link between posting photos on Instagram and negative thoughts about weight and shape, urges to exercise and restrict food intake and increased levels of anxiety.