FSU College of Nursing celebrates excellence at second annual Nole Nurse Shining Stars Gala

(From left) Kristin Fadale, Diane Raines, Robyn Reaves, Linda Walton, Marilyn “MiMi” McKenna, FSU College of Nursing Dean Jing Wang, Julia Pallentino, Patricia Trevathan, Brittany Lord.

Florida State University’s College of Nursing held its second annual Nole Nurse Shining Stars Gala on April 12 at the Dunlap Champions Club. The event bestowed prestigious awards, celebrated stewardship and community partners and honored the college’s best and brightest students.

“The gala is one of the highlights of the year for the College of Nursing,” said Jing Wang, dean of the College of Nursing. “It’s a chance to come together and celebrate the incredible achievements of our entire college community — students, faculty, alumni and dedicated partners who are truly making a difference. Their unwavering commitment to excellence inspires me every day.”

The Nole Nurse Shining Stars Gala provided a platform to celebrate the college’s accomplishments while fostering valued connections in the nursing community. The ceremony highlighted the achievements of individuals across various categories

Distinguished Graduate Awards

Recognizing exceptional alumni for their contributions to nursing. This year’s recipients include:  

  • Exemplary Leadership: Linda Walton, DNP, RN, CENP (BSN ’83)
  • Practitioner: Robyn Reaves, MSN, RN, FNP-C (BSN ’07)
  • Government and Community: Holly Faessel Bennett, MSN, RN, NE-BC (BSN ’84)
  • Educator: Patricia Trevathan, RN, CDCES (BSN ’96)
  • Recent Alumni: Brittany Herold Lord, BSN (BSN ’96)

Dean’s Awards

Honoring individuals who have made a lasting, sustained impact at the FSU College of Nursing. This year’s recipients include: 

  • Outstanding Service: Marilyn “Mimi” McKenna, MS, MSN, APRN (BSN ’74, MS ’85, MSN ’89)
  • Outstanding Service: Diane Raines, DNP, RN (BSN ’76)
  • Three T’s Time, Talent, Treasure: Julia Pallentino, MSN, JD, ARNP-BCN (BSN’80, JD ’83, MSN ’01)
  • Outstanding Contributions to FSU Nursing: Jorge Gonzales (BS ’87, MSP ’89)

DAISY Awards

Established by the DAISY Foundation, these recognize both national and international nurses for their accomplishments. This year’s recipients are: 

  • Advancing Health Equity: Eugenia Flores Millender, Ph.D. FAAN
  • Extraordinary Educator: Ryland J. Douthett, DNP, APRN
  • Lifetime Achievement: Denise A. Tucker, Ph.D., RN, CCRN-K (BSN ’82, MSN ’88)
  • Nurse Leader: Susan A. Baker, Ph.D., RN
  • Extraordinary Educator: Kristin Fadale, DNP, APRN, FNP-C, AGACNP-BC, ENP-BC

The event was made possible by the generous support HCA Florida Capital Hospital and Tallahassee Memorial HealthCare.

Nominations for the 2025 Nole Nurse Shining Star Gala open this summer. Visit CON Alumni & Friends Award Programs website for more information on award categories and the nomination process.