Skip to main content Skip to main content

Florida State University News

The Official News Source of Florida State University


Hurricanes


Profile photo for

Mark Bonn


Bonn is an expert in tourism and the economic impact that hurricanes and other disasters can have on the tourism industry.

Bonn is also an expert in the areas of tourism marketing and hospitality management. He has conducted studies for the Florida Sports Foundation, Inc. and Super Bowl XXXV.

(850) 644-8244
mbonn@business.fsu.edu
Full Profile

Profile photo for

Mark Bourassa


Bourassa’s expertise is in the transfer of energy and momentum between the ocean and the atmosphere, surface water waves and the identification of tropical disturbances, and possible precursors to tropical cyclones.

(850) 644-6923
bourassa@coaps.fsu.edu
Full Profile

Profile photo for

Dmitry Dukhovskoy


Dukhovskoy’s expertise focuses on modeling ocean dynamics, storm surges, air-sea interaction, waves and tides.

(850) 644-1168
ddukhovskoy@coaps.fsu.edu
Full Profile

Profile photo for

Randy E Dumm


Dumm is an expert on the impact of hurricane losses on insurance prices and availability in Florida and how modeling is used to determine the pricing of the hurricane component of residential property insurance.

(850) 644-7880
rdumm@business.fsu.edu
Full Profile

Profile photo for

James Elsner


Elsner is an expert on climate and weather, and in developing statistical models for predicting severe weather activity such as hurricanes and tornados.

(850) 566-3800
jelsner@fsu.edu
Full Profile

Profile photo for

Robert Hart


Hart’s research focuses on hurricane predictability, both track and intensity; the role of hurricanes in climate; and the impact of hurricanes on the higher latitudes.

(850) 645-1552
rhart@fsu.edu
Full Profile

Profile photo for

Wayne A Hochwarter


Wayne Hochwarter is the Jim Moran Professor of Management at Florida State University’s College of Business and a Professorial Fellow at the Center for HRM and Well-Being at Australia Catholic University in Melbourne. He has published over 100 scientific and applied articles covering a wide range of topics, including employee entitlement, worker engagement, job stress, layoffs, workplace politics, abusive work behaviors, personal accountability, optimism and leadership-focused motivation strategies.

(850) 644-7849
whochwarter@business.fsu.edu
Full Profile

Profile photo for

T N Krishnamurti


Krishnamurti is an international expert in computer modeling relating to tropical weather prediction. He developed the Super Ensemble technique that collects forecasts made by a world community of models and yields a best consensus long-range track, landfall and intensity forecast.

(850) 644-2210
tkrishnamurti@fsu.edu
Full Profile

Profile photo for

Lorilee A Medders


Medders is an expert on insurance aspects of hurricanes and other severe storms. She has special expertise in risk modeling, catastrophe risk finance, markets for catastrophe insurance, incentive systems for pre-disaster mitigation and adaptation, economic resilience to disasters, reputational/crisis risk management and business ethics.

(850) 645-8393
Lmedders@business.fsu.edu
Full Profile

Profile photo for

Vasu Misra


Misra studies climate variability and predictability. He and his colleagues at the Center for Ocean-Atmospheric Prediction Studies developed a new metric called Track Integrated Kinetic Energy (TIKE) to measure seasonal Atlantic tropical cyclone activity. The metric focuses on the size of storms in addition to the duration and intensity, a measure that may prove important when considering a hurricane’s potential for death and destruction.

(850) 645-8859
vmisra@coaps.fsu.edu
Full Profile

Profile photo for

Steven Morey


Morey focuses on studying physical processes and circulation within the Gulf of Mexico, and is currently working to develop computer models of storm surge and coastal flooding.

(850) 644-0345
morey@coaps.fsu.edu
Full Profile